The sleepwalking Lady Macbeth

Image via Wikipedia

Event: Pity Party

Where: This blog

When: Ending NOW

It’s become clear to me that lately I’ve been using this blog to throw my very own pity party. Wah, I didn’t get into grad school! Wah, I’m too scared/lazy to start my own business! Wah! Wah! Wah! And I have to say: I’m sorry!

I was originally planning today’s post after some thoughts I had while under the influence of two beers last night–and unfortunately that will often bring up pitiful emotions in me. So I’m still going to write that post this week, but I’m going to write it from an optimistic outlook.

So here’s another goal: be optimistic! I usually like to think I’m an optimistic person, but sometimes a slight fear that I’m not liked enough or that I’m not a good friend or that I’m actually quite funny-looking will pop up–these are those obstacle illusions! Every time they pop up, I feel like Lady Macbeth trying to wash her hands of blood. Out, damn spot!

This blog is supposed to be about making goals for my life to feel fulfilled and happy–and most of the time I feel that way anyway. So now I have to show it!

So here’s a question for you: What do you do to get out of a funk, or cancel the pity party? What makes you step back and look at the world through rose-colored glasses?

“A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.” – Winston Churchill

Keep smiling!

Kirsten